Ever since writing last week’s posts on prayer, the words of an old, old song have been going through my mind. I grew up singing it; it’s washed over my heart and soul countless times since I was a kid. It still has precious meaning to me. Since I haven’t been able to get these words off my mind, I decided to share them with you.

Maybe you’re going through some deep waters today and need to let these words wash over your soul.

I must tell Jesus all of my trials,
I cannot bear these burdens alone;
In my distress He kindly will help me,
He ever loves and cares for His own.

Refrain:
I must tell Jesus! I must tell Jesus!
I cannot bear my burdens alone;
I must tell Jesus! I must tell Jesus!
Jesus can help me, Jesus alone.

Tempted and tried I need a great Savior,
One who can help my burdens to bear;
I must tell Jesus, I must tell Jesus:
He all my cares and sorrows will share.

What must I do when worldliness calls me?
What must I do when tempted to sin?
I must tell Jesus, and He will help me
Over the world the vict’ry to win.

I certainly don’t know what Elisha Hoffman was experiencing in 1893 when he wrote these words, but I can tell that he had a relationship with his Savior that was rich, deep, meaningful and intimate. I’m convinced that prayer enables that to be true in all of our lives.

We MUST tell Jesus.

“Cast all your anxiety (cares, troubles) on Him because He cares for you.” I Peter 5:7

