I’ve just finished reading a book that is having a profound impact upon my life. It’s called, “A Praying Life” by Paul Miller. The Holy Spirit is using this book to call me to greater committment to being a pray-er, to greater depth in my prayer life, and to greater excitement as I lay myself before the Lord to use as His tool to make a difference in this world as I pray.

I can’t even express how much I believe that the Lord wants His children to be pray-ers. I’m convinced beyond a shadow of a doubt that it’s the avenue to greater power, greater effectiveness and greater evidence of the fruit of the Spirit in our lives.

But, oh, how hard it is to pray: to pray more than flash prayers, to pray for longer periods of time, to pray until we sense that we’ve really connected with the Lord and are praying His will. I know personally how hard it is! I’m sure you do, too.

Everything wars against this kind of praying: busyness…fatigue…distractions…over-scheduling…TV…social media…people…lack of self-discipline…the need for visible accomplishment…and on and on the list could go.

We think that our lives are unique in all of this. We think that this crazy, hectic life of ours makes it impossible to pull away and carve out time for prayer. But if only we’ll look at our Savior’s life recorded on the pages of the Gospels, we will be amazed at the demands upon His life. Yet we’ll see continually His committment to and need for time alone with His Father. (Miller writes that “if Jesus lived today, his cell phone would be ringing constantly”!)

I keep going back to the thought that if the Son of God needed to carve out time (away from people and busyness and needs and hurts and problems) to be with the Father, who in the world do I think I am to live life without doing the same? Do I really think I’m strong enough, capable enough, loving enough to handle life on my own?

Miller puts it this way, “If you are not praying, then you are quietly confident that time, money and talent are all you need in life. You’ll always be a little too tired, a little too busy. But if, like Jesus, you realize you can’t do life on your own, then no matter how busy, no matter how tired you are, you will find time to pray.”

Wow.

You’ll be hearing more from me about prayer this year. I’m going to pursue this amazing avenue of intimacy with my Savior through prayer that I’ve been given. And I’m going to help as many people as possible to do the same.

Prayerfully,

Patty

