It’s almost over, this fasting “experience” that has touched me, convicted me, humbled me and taught me. Yesterday something else was added to that list.

I had a proverbial slap in the face when a friend of ours wrote John about her own experience. She told him that when she starts struggling with her own fast, she uses it as a nudge to pray for all those in the world who are going hungry. I did a quick google search and was sickened to read that tonight 1 billion people will go to bed hungry and 200 million of those are children.

My 10-day fast is almost over and I can go back to eating whatever I want. They can’t. What do I do about that? What do I DO? Nothing? Something? Anything?

I read Isaiah 58 and realize that fasting in and of itself doesn’t mean much to God. (Read that chapter and be convicted.) I’m reminded again that I have so far to go on this spiritual journey.

Now I have to pray about what my own next step will be.

“Is this not the kind of fasting I have chosen…to share your food with the hungry…?” (Isaiah 58:6 and 7)

