I don’t know why I stopped blogging. I actually had gotten to the place where I enjoyed it. But somewhere along the way there simply seemed to be so many other more pressing things to be done: deadlines to be met, books to be read, intercession to be made, meetings to attend, and on and on I could go with the reasons I stopped. And so I let one week go by without blogging, then another week, then another. Finally, after a number of those weeks, I noticed it had been a couple of months since I had written on my blog. (And boy, did those months fly by!)

I have to admit, social media stuff isn’t really me. I’m not into facebook – perhaps because I could so easily get sucked into the obsessive-compulsive side of it and stay up all night going from one person’s posts to another to another to a hundred others. I hate texting, though I’ve come to appreciate the brevity of it. I don’t even like to talk on the phone!

Why don’t I like social media stuff? BECAUSE I LIKE THE FACE-TO-FACE stuff. I like looking you in the eye and seeing your expressions as we talk. I like seeing your face light up when something good is being said. I appreciate knowing by the look on your face if I’ve said something that confuses or confounds or even irritates you. I like watching your body language and knowing by your movements if you’re buying into what I’m saying or not. I like being able to reach out and put a gentle hand on you as we share or to slap you on the arm as we laugh together if you’re being silly or to pull you into a warm hug as we’re leaving one another.

And of course, I don’t get any of that in a blog.

But I have to acknowledge that the world revolves around and in and through and with social media. I know it; I just don’t especially like it. But I know I need to use it to its fullest advantage since that’s the way the world IS.

So, I’m back. I’m not making any wild and crazy boasts about how often I’m going to post, but I AM going to try to get with the program and make this a priority.

I can’t tell by your face or your body language or your sighing or your rolling of your eyes if you’re buying into what I’m writing about, but I’ll write it anyway. Because maybe, at times, along the way, I’ll say something that will help you or encourage you or motivate you or bless you or kick you to being something more. And that will be my way of reaching out to you with a “virtual” hug.

Stay tuned.

Blessings, Patty

