As I wrote last week, I’m thinking a lot about revival.  I’m reading books on revival.  I’m praying for revival.  I’m hungering for it.  One of the books I’ve read is “Mountain Rain” about the pioneer missionary to China in the early 1900’s, James O. Fraser.  He was another who longed for revival.  I love his insight into what revival looked like when they experienced it in China.  Here’s what he wrote.  It helps me pray more specifically.

1. Conviction of sin (John 16:8).  Things that normally were winked at appeared exceedingly sinful when the Spirit of holines threw His searchlight on our hearts, and there was confessing and putting away of sin.

2.  Revelation of Jesus (John 16:14).  What glimpses were given us of the grace and glory of the Lord!  His cross became more precious to us.  His resurrection and mediation more real, and His coming again a vital truth and purifying hope.

3.  Understanding of truth (John 14:26; 16:13)  Our spirits were gripped by truths that hitherto had only reached our minds – what we had preached as theories were experienced as facts – Never have I known the definiteness and directness of the Spirit’s teaching as in those days.

4.  Outpouring of love.  (Romans 5:5)  We had thought we loved each other, and did up to a point, but when the Spirit of God revealed His standard, “that they may be one as we are,” we bowed in shame.  (There follow accounts of brokenness, confession and new love between colleagues).

5.  Anointing of power.  (Acts 1:8). That the Lord has fulfilled His promise in the lives of some of His children is not now a matter of fond hope but an obvious fact.

Oh, how I long for revival, for an outpouring of the Spirit of God upon His people, that brings about all of these qualities that Fraser saw demonstrated in his time.

I’m praying…won’t you join me?

