Tags

, , ,

I had the privilege and joy of leading our church last weekend as we focused on prayer.  I absolutely love to teach people more about prayer…just as I absolutely love to learn more about prayer myself! So, I thought I’d write a few more thoughts about prayer, mainly by quoting authors who have so greatly influenced my own life regarding prayer.

On the topic of the purpose of prayer in our lives:

“In prayer, real prayer, we begin to think God’s thoughts after him:  to desire the things he desires, to love the things he loves, to will the things he wills.  Progressively we are taught to see things from his point of view.”  (Richard Foster)

On the topic of our time alone with God requiring time:

“It takes good time for the full flow of God into the spirit.  Short devotions cut the pipe of God’s full flow.  It takes time in the secret places to get the full revelation of God. Little time and hurry mar the picture.”  (E.M.Bounds)

On the topic of confession and repentance:

“Prayer invites me to lower defenses and present the self that no other person fully knows to a God who already knows.”  (Philip Yancy)

“We must lay before Him what is in us, not what ought to be in us.”  (C.S. Lewis)

On the topic of being honest with God:

“How unutterably sweet is the knowledge that our Heavenly Father knows us completely.  No talebearer can inform on us; no enemy can make an accusationstick; no forgotten skeleton can come tumbling out of some hidden closet to abash us and expose our past; no unsuspected weakness in our characters can come to light to turn God away from us, since He knew us utterly before we knew Him and called us to Himself in the full knowledge of everything that was against us.”  (A.W.Tozer)

“Can anyone hide in secret places so that I cannot see him?” (God -Jeremiah 23:24)

On the importance of praying for others:

“As for me, far be it from be me that I should sin against the Lord by failing to pray for you.”  (The prophet Samuel in I Samuel 12:23)

On the topic of worship:

“Lord, how great is our dilemma.  In Thy presence silence best becomes us, but love inflames our hearts and constrains us to speak.”  (Tozer)

On the topic of not being discouraged about where you currently are:

“It was liberating to me to understand that prayer involved a learning process.  I was set free to question, to experiement, even to fail, for I knew I was learning.”   (Richard Foster)

Well, I hope those words touch your heart and mind as much as they do mine.  Oh, how I long to become a better pray-er and how I long to see other believers become better pray-ers.  Together, let’s join our hearts with the heart of God, that eternity will be affected because we’ve not neglected praying.

Prayerfully, Patty

