Tags

,

Memory can be a precious gift.

We can take the memories of events we’ve experienced and go over them time after time in our mind’s eye, reliving them, cherishing them.

That’s what I’ve been doing with our trip to Israel:  picturing in my mind’s eye the steps we took on those historical grounds, dwelling on how I felt as I walked up and down those hills, going in and out of the places that hold such eternal significance.  Here are three more of the places that I saw and have been reviewing in my mind’s eye.

The Garden of Gethsemane.  We looked at the 2,050 year old tree that surely was one He passed that night as He walked through the garden.  I sat there, picturing Him saying, “My soul is crushed with grief to the point of death.”  I cried to think of such deep agony as He reflected on what was soon going to happen to Him. And I realized again how grateful I am to have a Savior who understands pain and heartache and sadness.

Communion in the Garden.  We stood there together in the Garden, as John read the scriptures to us about the night Jesus took communion with His friends.  And then we shared in communion as we looked out over the city of Jerusalem, the city which Jesus had wept over.  It was a holy moment for all of us.

The tomb.  After listening to the many reasons that this is believed to be the place where such a climactic event in history took place, we stood in line to walk into the tomb.  I didn’t expect the emotion I felt; it was almost overpowering!  Picturing my Savior, the sinless Son of God, laying in that cave, His body broken and lifeless, His blood spilled…for me.  I could have sat there for hours, but others wanted the same experience and so I had to move on…but I will picture that tomb for the rest of my life.

Yes, memory can be a precious gift.  I continue to relive those days in Israel and continue to be so grateful that this Jesus whom I have loved and served for a lifetime has become even more precious to me than ever before.

