Tags

I don’t know when I first began collecting quotes.  When I was in my late 20’s I began to be a reader of books that spurred me on to greater, deeper spiritual growth – and the authors of those books have influenced and impacted my life for the past 30-plus  years.  It’s authors like A.W. Tozer (my all-time favorite!), Gordon and Gail McDonald, Oswald Sanders and Oswald Chambers, Philip Yancy, Richard Foster, Erwin McManus, Wesley Duewel, E.M. Bounds – and the list could go on and on – who have had such influence on my spiritual walk.

From those books I’ve collected drawers full of quotes.  These quotes helped me write sermons and lessons.  They helped me counsel and encourage.  They helped me stretch and grow.  I owe so much to these authors whose writings have so influenced my life and ministry.

Periodically I’ll share one of those quotes on my blog.  Hopefully they will speak to others in ways that the Holy Spirit can use to bring about greater transformation in your own life.

Here’s one quote that’s so convicting to me:

“When, because of your faith, your life…becomes perceptibly different; when your reactions are quite opposite to what the situation seems to call for and your activities can no longer be explained by your personality; that is when your neighborhood will sit up and take notice.  In the eyes of the world, it is not our relationship with Jesus Christ that counts; it is our resemblance to Him.”  (Ray Stedman)

That’s one of the greatest longings of my life: to resemble Jesus more and more! “And as the Spirit of the Lord works within us, we become more and more like him and reflect his glory even more.”  (2 Corinthians 3:18)

Let it be, dear Savior; let it be.

