Tags

, , , ,

I have a deep, precious love of the Bible.   It’s a love I’ve had since I was a child; one that’s grown exponentially over my lifetime.  I’ve found countless times that the Bible is truly living and active (like it says in Hebrews) and it helps me become the person God longs for me to be.  (I love II Timothy 3:15-16 that talks about this.)

I’m continually amazed at how the Word of God stirs in my heart and mind to move me toward Christlikeness.  I had it happen again on Monday.

I was out walking, headed to the library where I was going to do some Bible study and prayer; I couldn’t wait to get there.  I saw in the distance a couple on the sidewalk, obviously waiting for the bus.  The woman was bent over, in a wheelchair.  The man was kneeling down beside her.

My heart immediately went out to them and I began to pray for them.  Then Jesus and I began to have a running conversation about them.  He reminded me of the story of the Good Samaritan where all the religious people were too busy or too disgusted or too whatever to stop and pay any attention to the poor man on the road who had been beaten up.  It was like Jesus said, “You’re going to pass by them, aren’t you?  You’re too busy.  You have to get to the library and read the Bible but you aren’t going to live the Bible.”   I tried to ignore the whispering voice in my head, but I couldn’t stop picturing those guys in the story who were supposed to be so religious, but had neglected to live out their religion.

So, I came closer, only to realize that I knew these people because they sometimes come to church.  I said a cheerful hello and kept walking past them.   As I flashed by them, the Bible wouldn’t let me go as the Holy Spirit kept speaking:  “Are you going to be like Jesus or not?”

I sighed, stopped, went back, and told them who I was.  They responded with joy and said, “Oh, we’ve been wanting to get to church but we don’t have a ride!”

Needless to say, they will have a ride this Sunday.

“I have hidden your word in my heart that I might not sin against you.”  Psalm 119:11

“I ask with all my heart what God is trying to say to us through the Bible.  Since I have learned to read the Word this way, it has become more marvelous to me every day.”  (Dietrich Bonhoeffer)

