I can hear it now:  the murmers, the whispers, the giggles, the astonishment in your voices, “Patty Bray (my Mom?  my wife? my friend?) has a blog????”  “What is this world coming to???” “She hasn’t even changed her Facebook page for a year and now she’s doing a blog?”  “Does she even know what a blog IS???”

And I accept the ridicule, the teasing, the laughter, the incredulence…In fact, the loudest voice asking all of those questions is perhaps MINE!  “What in the world do I think I’m doing?  Why would anyone care what I think?  Is this just a waste of my time?”

I don’t know the answers to those questions yet…but several friends have pushed and prodded and encouraged me to step into the 20th century.  (I KNOW it’s really the 21st century, but let me take this one step at a time.)

I feel nervous about this venture.  (Will I really keep at it?  What do I actually write about?  Will people critique my grammar as I just did and know that I ended that sentence with a preposition?)

But I also feel excited.  (I can’t believe I’m saying that!)  I guess I’m excited because I really do have some stuff that I care about and I have a burning desire to make a difference in the lives of people, and maybe that can happen a little bit more if I write it in this venue.

I also feel somewhat overwhelmed about the prospects of this.  Why?  Because I know how I already feel about just Facebook stuff:  I have about 250 people right now awaiting my check to befriend them (Is that how you say it?) and I haven’t read anyone’s comments on Facebook for months and now I’m adding another place where people are going to comment and it seems overwhelming to think how anyone keeps up with all of this and…OK, I have to slow down and take a deep breath…

So, I’ll try it and see how people respond.  I can’t guarantee I’ll be great at responding to comments or getting stuff posted as regularly as I should, but I’m going to go into this with anticipation for how the Lord might use my simple thoughts to help someone in some small way.

That’s it for now.  I’ll keep you posted!

(And thanks to my friend Vikki who pushed the hardest.)

